Sermons

"Now, more than ever, we need a Christian faith which is both intellectually credible and spiritually nourishing – a faith which is generous-spirited and open-minded; deeply rooted in the tradition and alive to the present." The Revd Darren McCallig.

Preaching which connects the Word of God with the world of today is our goal at St Edmund's. On this page you will find links to MP3 recordings of some recent sermons.

 

Sunday 17 February 2019
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "The Topsy-Turvy Gospel" (Luke 6: 17-31) (Luke 6: 17-31 in "The Message" by Eugene Peterson)

Sunday 10 February 2019
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "Put out into the deep water" (Luke 5: 1-11)

Sunday 3 February 2019
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "Candlemas: The candle shows us how" (Luke 2:22-40)

Sunday 27 January 2019
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "Jesus's first sermon – which was very nearly his last!" (Luke 4:14-30)

Sunday 20 January 2019
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "The Wedding at Cana – Nevertheless!" (John 2:1-11)

Sunday 13 January 2019
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "Baptism of Christ: I am Blessed and can Bless" (Luke 3: 15-17, 21-22)

Sunday 6 January 2019
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "Epiphany: From Jerusalem to Bethlehem" (Matthew 2: 1-12)

Tuesday 25 December 2018
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "Christmas Day Sermon: God is With Us" (Luke 2: 1-20)

Sunday 23 December 2018
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "Mary is Expecting!" (Luke 1: 39-55)

Sunday 16 December 2018
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "Begin again, from where you are" (Luke 3: 7-18)

Sunday 2 December 2018
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "Advent: The Four Last Things"

Sunday 25 November 2018
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "The Ruler of the Kings of the Earth"

Sunday 18 November 2018
The Senior Chaplain, the Revd Darren McCallig: "Faith is not knowing everything" (Mark 13: 1-8)

 

Joanna Craig Website Design